Follow FIBA on Facebook

to read

Tip-off to FIBA U19 Women's World Championship 2017 a step closer with Wednesday's draw

UDINE (FIBA U19 Women's World Championship 2017) - Teams competing at the FIBA U19 Women's World Championship 2017 will find out what obstacles stand in their way in the early stages of the competition on Wednesday morning when the draw is held in Udine, Italy.

The 16-team event will take place from 22-30 July in Udine and Cividale del Friuli.

The draw ceremony begins at 11:00am CET (GMT+1) on Wednesday and will be streamed live here.

The countries that will compete in the FIBA U19 Women's World Championship 2017 are as follows:

Host: Italy
Africa: Egypt, Mali
Americas: USA, Canada, Puerto Rico
Asia: China, Japan, Korea
Europe: France, Spain, Russia, Latvia, Hungary
Oceania: Australia

Following the suspension of Brazil's Basketball Federation, a fourth team from the Americas will be announced by FIBA to finalise the 16-team line-up.

The USA are the reigning champions and have won the last six editions of the competition.