FIBA Women's World Championship

Formerly known as the FIBA Women’s World Championship, 2018 will mark the first time that FIBA's flagship event for women's basketball is played under its new name as the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup. This exciting landmark tournament will be staged in Spain, a nation that also hosted the first-ever FIBA Basketball World Cup.

Spain wrote their own historic chapter at the last edition of the competition when they lined up for their maiden Final in 2014 in Istanbul, Turkey. However, they were unable to stop the all-conquering USA from retaining the title which they won in 2010.

Indeed the USA have been the dominant force in the competition since 1979, winning eight of the 11 titles on offer since that time. They also finished on the top step of the podium at the first two events, which included the considerable pride of lifting the inaugural title when the prestigious competition was launched in 1953 in Chile.
Six years later, the pendulum swung towards the Soviet Union who experienced the thrill of landing their first title with the added thrill of doing so on home soil in Moscow. It was to spark a truly golden era of quite stunning success.
The Soviet Union did not relinquish their crown for two decades and, to this day, still remain the only country to have won five times in a row. Even 10-time champions USA have not won the competition three times in a row – although that’s something they will be gunning for in 2018.
It took a stellar effort from one of the sport’s all-time great players to finally break the dual monopoly of these two women's basketball powerhouses - more than 40 years after the competition was launched. FIBA Hall of Fame inductee Hortencia Marcari was the architect of a memorable first title for Brazil in 1994.
Twelve years later, the Opals rode out winners as another great player in Lauren Jackson catapulted Australia to their greatest success as they finished on the top step of the podium in Sao Paulo.
With such a rich tradition and the added excitement of a new page being turned when the action gets underway in Spain in 2018, 16 nations will be eager to get their hands on a coveted ticket.

These will be made available via the various Continental Cups which will take place in 2017. Five spots are reserved for Europe - in addition to a place for Spain as hosts. Four are also on offer for the Americas, three for Asia, two for Africa and one for Oceania.