Follow FIBA on Facebook

06 November, 2017
30 June, 2019
Press Release
to read

Seedings released ahead of FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2019 Qualifiers' Draw

Munich (FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2019 Qualifiers) - The seedings have been released ahead of the FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2019 Qualifiers' Draw on Tuesday.

34 countries have registered to participate in the Qualifiers, with hosts Latvia and Serbia earning direct qualification to the Final Round, leaving the other 32 nations fighting it out for the 14 remaining spots.

Following on from the success of the FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2017 Qualifiers, the 2019 Qualifiers will follow the same format and be played in three windows during the club season.

The windows are scheduled for November 6 to 16, 2017; February 5 to 15, 2018; and November 12 to 22, 2018; with teams playing two games in each window.

The teams will be drawn into eight groups of four teams.

The seedings for the Draw are:

Seed 1   Seed 2   Seed 3   Seed 4
Spain   Ukraine   Croatia   Finland
France   Hungary   Romania   Bulgaria
Belgium   Czech Republic   Great Britain   Bosnia and Herzegovina
Greece   Slovenia   Poland   Portugal
Turkey   Belarus   Netherlands   Estonia
Italy   Montenegro   Iceland   Switzerland
Slovak Republic   Israel   Lithuania   Albania
Russia   Sweden   Germany   MKD

The Draw will take place in Munich, following on from the EuroLeague Women and EuroCup Women Regular Season draws.

About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.basketball) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 213 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognised as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).
For further information about FIBA, visit fiba.basketball or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fibatwitter.com/fiba,  instagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.