How teams qualified

The host nation (Spain) and the reigning Olympic champions (United States of America) qualify automatically for the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup 2018.

The 14 other participating teams earned their places through the FIBA Continental Cups 2017.

Here is a breakdown, region by region, of how teams qualified:
AFRICA - FIBA Women's AfroBasket 2017 (August 18-27) - Nigeria and Senegal.
AMERICAS - FIBA Women's AmeriCup 2017 (August 6-13) - Argentina, Canada and Puerto Rico.
ASIA - FIBA Women's Asia Cup 2017 (July 23-29) - Australia, China, Japan and Korea
EUROPE - FIBA EuroBasket Women 2017 (June 16-25) - Belgium, France, Greece, Latvia and Turkey.