Follow FIBA on Facebook

22 - 30
September 2019
13 Sylvia Fowles (USA)
Team Announcement
to read

Gold Medalists Headline USA's 12-player roster for FIBA Women's AmeriCup

MIAMI (United States of America) - Following a three-day camp in Miami, USA Basketball announced its final roster for the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2019. The team is headlined by veterans, Tina Charles and Sylvia Fowles, who have earned a combined nine Olympic and FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup gold medals.

USA's 12-player roster
Tina Charles Sylvia Fowles Jordin Canada Napheesa Collier
Diamond DeShields Stefanie Dolson Olivia Nelson-Ododa Arike Ogunbowale
Katie Lou Samuelson Khadijah Sessions Brittney Sykes Elizabeth Williams

"It's a good group," said USA head coach Dawn Staley. "We've got a good, young group. We've got the spectrum. We've got the USA National Team first-timers, we've got multi-time Olympians and then we've got some players who are very young, but who had great WNBA seasons. So, I think it's great for us to see where our USA National Team pool is overall. So, I'm happy and excited to take the next step and go to Puerto Rico with this group."

USA was drawn to Group B of the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup and will start the continental competition against Paraguay on September 22. The team coached by Staley will then face Colombia, Argentina, and Brazil to close-out the Group Phase. Group A is composed of Canada, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Mexico, and Puerto Rico.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2019 Semi-Finals on September 28. The Final will be played on September 29.