loading...Please wait while content is loading.
 IOC Code:
 Country: Serbia & Montenegro
 Continent: Euro 
 President: Svetozar Marovic
 Capital: Belgrade
 Largest City: Novi Sad, Nia, Kragujevac,
       Podgorica, Priatina, Subotica
 Currency: New Yugoslav dinar
 Official languages: Serbian
 Motto: None

 Population: 10 8320 545
 GDP/inhabitant (in US$): 4 858 
 Density (inhabitants/km2): 105 
 Average age (in years): 36.2
 Life expectancy (in years): 73.97

 Internet code: .yu 
 Calling code: +381
map of Serbia & Montenegro


Serbia and Montenegro, State Union of Serbia and Montenegro, abbreviated as SUSM), was a confederated union of Serbia and Montenegro, which existed between 2003 and 2006. The two republics, both of which are former republics of the SFR Yugoslavia, initially formed the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia in 1992. In 2003, the FRY was reconstituted as a State Union of Serbia and Montenegro.

On May 21, 2006, Montenegro held a referendum to seek full independence. Final official results indicated on May 31 that 55.5% of voters had elected to become independent. The state union effectively came to an end after Montenegro's formal declaration of independence on June 3, 2006 and Serbia's formal declaration of independence on June 5. Many view this as symbolizing the final end of what was left from the former Yugoslavia.

A loose confederation, Serbia and Montenegro was a union only in certain political areas (e.g. defence). The states had separate economic policies and currencies. The country did not have a unified capital, dividing its common institutions between Belgrade in Serbia and Podgorica in Montenegro.