loading...Please wait while content is loading.

 IOC Code:
 Country:  Nigeria
 Continent: Africa
 President: Olusẹgun Ọbasanjọ
 Capital: Abuja 
 Largest City:  Lagos
 Currency: Naira (NGN) 
 Official languages: English
 Motto: Unity and Faith, Peace
       and Progress

 POPULATION (1 January 2005)
 Population: 131 530 000
 GDP/inhabitant (US $): 1 188
 Density (inhabitants/km2): 142
 Average age (in years):  
 Life expectancy (in years):

 Internet code: .ng
 Calling code: +234

map of Nigeria

Nigeria, officially the Federal Republic of Nigeria, is a country in West Africa. The most populated country in Africa, Nigeria shares land borders with the Republic of Benin in the west, Chad and Cameroon in the east, Niger in the north and the Gulf of Guinea in the south. Its capital is Abuja.

On October 1, 1960 Nigeria declared their independence from the British and now consists of 36 states and the federal capital territory. Nigeria re-achieved democracy in 1999 after a sixteen-year interruption by a series of military dictators. From 1966 until 1999, Nigeria had been ruled (except the short-lived second republic, 1979-1983) by military dictators who seized power in coups and counter-coups.