loading...Please wait while content is loading.
 IOC Code:
 Country: Slovenia
       (Republika Slovenija)
 Continent: Europe
 President: Danilo Türk
 Capital: Ljubjana 
 Largest City: Ljubjana 
 Currency: Euro
 Official languages: Slovenian
 Motto: None

 POPULATION (1 January 2006)
 Population: 2 023 358
 GDP/inhabitant (in US $): 22100
 Density (inhabitants/km2): 99 
 Average age (in years):  
 Life expectancy (in years): 75.93

 Internet code: .si 
 Calling code: +386
map of Slovenia


Slovenia, officially the Republic of Slovenia (Slovenian: Republika Slovenija), is a coastal Alpine country in southern Central Europe bordering Italy to the west, the Adriatic Sea to the southwest, Croatia to the south and east, Hungary to the northeast, and Austria to the north.

Before gaining its independence in 1991, Slovenia had been part of: The Roman Empire, Duchy of Carantania (just the current northern part), The Holy Roman Empire (from the 16th century - The Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation), Austria-Hungary until 1918, State of Slovenes, Croats and Serbs, Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes (renamed the Kingdom of Yugoslavia in 1929) between the World Wars, and the SFR of Yugoslavia from 1945 until gaining independence in 1991. It became a member of the European Union on 1 May 2004. It is also a member of the Council of Europe, NATO, and has observer status in La Francophonie.