Follow FIBA on Facebook

Seungah Lee (KOR)
to read

Youthful Korea make final roster tweak

SEOUL (FIBA World Championship for Women) - Despite having announced their final roster for the FIBA World Championship for Women several weeks ago, Korea have made what appears to be one final change to the line-up which will step onto the hardwood in Istanbul.

Already set to be the youngest team in the competition, they have opted to replace 20-year-old Ajung Kang with another teenager in the shape of Sion Kim - something which further reduces the average age of their team to a little over 23 years old.

The forward has played for her country on a global platform at youth level, having competed in Amsterdam two years ago at the FIBA U17 World Championship for Women and also last year in Lithuania at the FIBA U19 World Championship for Women.

The inclusion of Kim means that Lee Seeul Kang, Ajeong Kang and Kyung Eun Lee are all now absent from the initial roster named by the Federation.

This also means there are no survivors from the team which competed four years ago in Czech Republic, so the entire Korea roster will be made up of FIBA World Championship for Women debutantes.

The most vital player by some distance will therefore be Seungah Lee, the only player who competed last year at the FIBA Asia Championship for Women and was part of the team which made it to the final in Bangkok, before eventually losing out to Japan.

Her experience will be significant, while high school center, Ji Su Park is still set to capture the imagination due to her stellar talent.

The vast majority of Korea's well known players and those who reached the quarter-finals of the FIBA World Championship for Women in 2010, are currently heading to the Asian games in Incheon which Korea are hosting.

The full roster for Turkey is as follows:, Seungah Lee (Woori Bank Hansae), Gyu-Hee Kim (Shinhan Bank S-Birds), A Ran Hong (KB Stars), Jihyun Shin (Shinhan Bank S-Birds), Youn Joo Kim (Shinhan Bank S-Birds), Hyeyoon Bae (Samsung Life Bichumi), Soo Yeon Kim (KB Stars), So Dam Kim (KDB Life Winnus), Ji Su Park (Bundang School), Boram Hong (KEB Hanabank), Sion Kim (KDB Life Winnus), Heejin Choi (Samsung Life Bichumi).

Korea will fight it out against  Group C rivals, Australia, Belarus and Cuba in the first stage of the competition.