Follow FIBA on Facebook

to read

IWBF Africa Zone elects new officers

ALGIERS (IWBF Africa) - A congress was held for the member nations of the International Wheelchair Basketball Federation’s Africa zone during the continental championship tournament that also served as a qualification event for the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. 

Elections for the Executive Council were held with Hamid El Aouni of Morocco re-elected for a third term as president. 

Loleta Krige of South Africa was re-elected as Classification Officer, while newly elected were Halimi Rabah, Algeria - VP (Northern Region), Olawale Adebukola Olopade, Nigeria - VP (Central Region), Yoliswa Lumka, South Africa VP (Southern Region), and Charles Saunders, South Africa (Technical Officer).

The newly elected Executive Council of the IWBF Africa zone. Top row: Halimi Rabah, Algeria (VP Northern Region); Loleta Krige, South Africa (Classification Officer); Charles Saunders, South Africa (Technical Officer). Botton row: Yoliswa Lumka, South Africa (VP Southern Region); Hamid El Aouni, Morocco (President); Olawale Adebukola Olopade, Nigeria (VP Central Region). Photo courtesy of IWBF.

Shawn Moorgas of South Africa was re-appointed by Executive Council as the Secretary General of the Zone. 

The IWBF Africa Championships were swept by host Algeria with their men’s and women’s teams also achieving the last two spots in the Rio 2016 wheelchair basketball tournament.