FIBA Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
to read

FIBA to have 2015 Class of Inductees enter Hall of Fame

MIES (FIBA Hall of Fame) - FIBA on Monday announced that a 2015 Class of Inductees will be enshrined into its Hall of Fame later this year.

The FIBA Hall of Fame serves to reflect the history of the sport and its protagonists.

The people who have had a profound impact on international basketball and helped make it what it is today have been been entering the FIBA Hall of Fame since it was inaugurated in 2007, on the occasion of FIBA's 75th anniversary.

The key criterion for selection is outstanding achievement at an international level in the development and dedication to the sport of basketball as players, coaches, technical officials and contributors.

Nomination forms have been sent to all 2014 National Member Federations. Each has until 20 June to submit nominations, with a decision on the make-up of the class to be made in July. Click here to see the full list of nominees who can be put forward and inducted as part of the 2015 Class.

Bill Russell, Drazen Petrovic, Uljana Semjonova, Dean Smith, Borislav Stankovic and Alexander Gomelsky are five inductees from the inaugural class of eight years ago, and more legends have entered in the years to follow like Arvydas Sabonis, Oscar Schmidt, David Robinson, Hortencia Marcari and Teresa Edwards.

In all, there have been four induction classes to date: 2007, 2009, 2010 and 2013.

Once the inductees have been determined and announced, a ceremony will take place in September during the Final Phase of the EuroBasket in Lille, France.

Go to for full information about the FIBA Hall of Fame.