Follow FIBA on Facebook

EuroBasket Women 2017 awarded to Czech Republic
to read

EuroBasket Women 2017 awarded to Czech Republic

BUDAPEST - The FIBA Europe Board discussed a number of important matters during its extraordinary session in Budapest, Hungary, on Sunday.

The Board voted Czech Republic as the next EuroBasket Women hosts in 2017.

Czech Republic and Serbia were the two bidding Federations.

FIBA Europe President Turgay Demirel thanked both candidacies which described as "outstanding."

EuroBasket Women 2017 will revert to a 16-team format and a shorter competition format. It will be played in June 2017 with the exact dates to be confirmed.

The Board has also expressed its satisfaction with this year's event in Hungary in Romania, the level of the basketball played and the excellent work done by the organisers.

Additionally, the Board discussed in detail other issues, including the remodelling of the club competitions. Details on this projects and other Board decisions will be communicated on Monday.