Follow FIBA on Facebook

15 Jongkyu KIM (Korea); 11 Jianlian YI (China)
to read

EABA Championship 2017 groups set

TOKYO (EABA Championship 2017) - The six teams participating in the East Asia Basketball Association (EABA) Championship 2017 were determined on Monday and then found out what groups they would play in as a result of a draw.

This year's edition of the biennial event will take place in Nagano, Japan, from June 2-7. In the Group Phase, the six teams will be divided into two groups.

In the first round, each team will play the other two teams in their group once. The top two teams from each group will advance to the Semi-Finals. The 3rd place team in each group will play for 5th place in the tournament. The two Semi-Finals winners will advance to the Final, and the two Semi-Finals losers will dispute 3rd place overall.

The EABA Championship 2017 serves as a qualifier for the FIBA Asia Cup 2017 that will be held in Beirut, Lebanon from August 10 to 20. The top five teams from this competition will earn tickets to the continental tournament. 

The last EABA Championship was held four years ago in 2013 in Incheon, Korea, where the hosts prevailed in the Final against China, 79-68. Japan took 3rd place home over Hong Kong, 87-71.