Follow FIBA on Facebook

Angola (ANG)
to read

Draw for AfroBasket 2015 set to take place on 4 April

ABIDJAN (AfroBasket 2015) - FIBA Africa have announced that the official draw for AfroBasket 2015 will take place on Saturday 4 April at the Carthage Acropolium in Tunisia's capital city of Tunis.

The African Championship, staged every two years, is the region's flagship competition.

The 2015 edition will be held from 19-30 August in Tunisia's cities of Nabeul and Hammamet and serves as a qualifying event for the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

It is the third time that Tunisia will get to stage the AfroBasket, having previously hosted it in 1965 and 1987.

To date, 11 of the 16 teams that will compete at AfroBasket 2015 are known. They are: Tunisia (host country), Angola (defending champions), Morocco, Mali, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire, Cameroon, Egypt, Uganda, Zimbabwe and Mozambique.

Two more teams will book their spots through remaining qualifiers (in groups E and G), with the final three places to be attributed through a system of wild cards.

Media interested in attending the draw should go to the FIBA Africa website and click on the banner 'Media Accreditation Draw Tunisia 2015' in order to fill out an application form.