Follow FIBA on Facebook

Sree Kanteraava Stadium
Press Release
to read

Bengaluru confirmed as host city for FIBA Women's Asia Cup 2019, Division A

BENGALURU (India) - The FIBA Women's Asia Cup 2019, Division A will take place from 24-29 September 2019 in Bengaluru, India.


The FIBA Women's Asia Cup 2019, the 29th edition of the event, is split into two divisions, combining both the regions of Asia and Oceania. The national teams that have earned their spots to compete in Division A are Japan, Australia China, Korea, Chinese Taipei, India, Philippines and New Zealand.  The host of the Division B will be announced at a later date


India and the city of Bengaluru has been host to other major Asian basketball events in the recent years. The East Indian city also hosted the previous FIBA Women's Asia Cup in 2017 for both Division A and B. Japan beat heavy-favourites Australia in the Final to win their third straight FIBA Asia Cup title, while hosts India beat Kazakhstan in Division B, in front of a sell out crowd, resulting in the promotion to Division A.

Japan beat Australia 74-73 in the Final to win their third straight trophy


Youth championships were also held in Bengaluru with both the FIBA U16 Women's Asian Championship in 2017 and the FIBA U18 Women's Asian Championship in 2018. 


The Basketball Federation of India (BFI) has continuously displayed their efforts towards promoting basketball, especially women's basketball, in the country over the years and hosting the Women's Asia Cup is another big step in the same direction




About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.basketball) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 213 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognised as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).
For further information about FIBA, visit fiba.basketball or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fiba, twitter.com/fibainstagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.