Follow FIBA on Facebook

to read

KOR – KCC Egis claim fifth KBL championship

SEOUL (KBL) - Guards Kang Byung-Hyun and Shin Myung-ho hit timely baskets down the stretch to help KCC Egis edge out Dongby Promy 79-77 in Game 6 of the 2011 KBL Finals and win the best-of-seven series 4-2 and clinch their fifth KBL League crown.

The win completed an impressive turnaround. Down 2-1 in the series, KCC Egis fought back and took Games 4 and 5. Dongbu had won Game 3 of the series after the first two games had been split.

American Chris Daniels led KCC Egis with a game-high 25 points and 10 rebounds and giant center Ha Seung-jin added 22 points and pulled down nine boards, but the contribution of Kang and Shin proved decisive.

Ha was named Finals MVP.

With KCC Egis trailing 77-75, Kang fired in his second of two three-pointers for the game to give KCC Egis a 78-77 lead.

Kang had 10 points for the game.

Lim Jae-hyun then succeeded in his second of two free-throws to seal the issue with 11 seconds left on the clock. Lim too had 10 points.

“It was a shot of fortune,” said Kang, who was playing his last game before undertaking military service on 2 May.

“This victory will be the best present for me ahead of the military."

KCC Egis who trailed 25-16 at the end of the first quarter and 40-30 at halftime, bounced back after the break to take a 58-56 lead to end the third period, setting up a high-voltage final frame.

Shin gave KCC Egis the edge just past the midway mark in the fourth quarter with his only three-pointer of the game and moments later converted two free-throws to put his team ahead.

“I just threw the ball with confidence, and it went through the rim just fine,” Shin said.

“And you wouldn’t know how dazzling I was with such a successful shot.

“I think I was able to make the shot with calmness as my team-mates were helping each other."

Victor Thomas’ 23 points and nine rebounds paced Dongbu Promy. Kim Joo-Sung had 16 points and 10 rebounds.

KCC Egis, who had finished runners-up last year to Mobis Phoebus, are now the most successful team in KBL history having won five titles (1998, 1999, 2008 and 2009, 2010) in various formats of the KBL.