Follow FIBA on Facebook

Mexico (MEX)
to read

2015 FIBA Americas Championship draw set for 25 March

SAN JUAN (2015 FIBA Americas Championship) - FIBA Americas have announced that the draw for the 2015 FIBA Americas Championship will take place on Wednesday 25 March at 12 noon local time (18:00 GMT/19:00 CET) in the Museo del Acero, Parque Fundidora of Monterrey, Mexico.

The continental championship will be held from 25 August to 6 October in the capital of the northeastern state of Nuevo Leon and will serve as a qualifying event for the 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympic Games.

The 10 participating teams are:
Host: Mexico
North America: Canada
Central America and the Caribbean: Cuba, Dominican Republic, PanamaPuerto Rico
South America: Argentina, Brazil, UruguayVenezuela

The 10 teams will be drawn into two groups of five (5) teams each. The first phase of the tournament will be played in a round robin format, with every team taking on its four (4) opponents in its respective group. The top four (4) teams from each group will advance to the second phase, where they will play against the four (4) teams that were in the other group in the previous round. The top four (4) teams in this round will advance to the Semi-Finals. The winners of the two Semi-Finals will battle it out for the title of continental champions in the Final, while the losers of the Semi-Finals will go face to face in the Third-Place Game.

At the 2013 FIBA Americas Championship in Caracas, Venezuela, Mexico won their first-ever continental championship. The tournament featured the likes of Gustavo Ayon (Mexico), Jose Juan Barea and Carlos Arroyo (Puerto Rico), Luis Scola (Argentina) and Karl Towns (Dominican Republic).