Hall of Fame Logo

FIBA Hall of Fame

Pour ceux qui ont façonné le jeu

Membres du Hall of Fame

Kay Yow (États-Unis)
Né(e) en novembre mardi, 1928, dans in Gibsonville, North Carolina, U.S.A..

Consacré en tant qu'entraîneur intronisé(e) au FIBA Hall of Fame en septembre mardi, 2009.


  • Head coach at the Allen Jay High School (1964-1968) and Gibsonville High School (1969-1970)
  • Head coach of  Elon College's women team: 1971-1975
  • Head coach of  North Carolina State University (NCSU) Women's team: 1975-2009

Palmarès en Club

  • 5 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Regular Season Championships: 1978, 1980, 1983, 1985 and 1990
  • 4 ACC Tournament Titles: 1980, 1985, 1987 and 1991

Équipe nationale

  • 2 times Olympic Gold medalist: Los Angeles 1984 (assistant coach) and Seoul 1988 (head coach)
  • World Champion in USSR 1986
  • Gold medalist in the 1986 Goodwill Games in Moscow
  • Gold medalist in the 1979 World University Games in Mexico City (as assistant coach)
  • Silver medalist in the 1981 World University Games in Bucharest
  • Gold medalist in the 1983 Pan American Games in Caracas (as assistant coach)
  • Gold medalist in the 1984 R. William Jones Cup in Taipei (as assistant coach)

Palmarès individuel

  • With a 737-344 record (68.2% winning percentage) over her 38 years of collegiate career, Kay Yow is one of the six coaches to have won 700 or more games in NCAA Division I Women's Basketball history
  • Named 8 times National Coach of the Year by various organisations
  • Created, in cooperation with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association, the Kay Yow/WBCA Cancer Fund in 2007, an institution which has raised USD 715,000 for women's cancer research
  • On 16th February 2007,  the Reynolds Coliseum court, home of the University of North Carolina State Women's Basketball Team, was christened the 'Kay Yow Court' (second time in history that a women's basketball coach had a court named in her honour)
    2007 Laurel Wreath Award (the state's highest sports recognition), presented by North Carolina Governor Mike Easley