Hall of Fame Logo

FIBA Hall of Fame

Pour ceux qui ont façonné le jeu

Membres du Hall of Fame

Juan Antonio Samaranch (Espagne)
Né(e) en juillet samedi, 1920, dans Barcelona, Spain.

Consacré en tant que personnalité marquante intronisé(e) au FIBA Hall of Fame en août samedi, 2016.

Temps forts

  • Graduated from the Barcelona Institute of Higher Business Studies (IESE) (1962)
  • City councilor for the City of Barcelona responsible for sports (1954-1962)
  • Vice-President of the II International Mediterranean Games Committee in Barcelona (1955)
  • President of Barcelona Provincial Council Sports Committee (1955-1966)
  • Spanish Provincial President of Sports (1955-1956)
  • Spanish Olympic Committee Member (1956-1967)
  • Chef de Mission for the Winter Olympic Games in Cortina d’Ampezzo (1956), the Olympic Games in Rome (1960) and Tokyo (1964)
  • President of Barcelona International Boat Show (1963-1978)
  • Elected as member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) (1966)
  • Director of Physical Education and Sport in Spain (1966-1970)
  • President of the Spanish Olympic Committee (1967-1970)
  • National Delegate of Sports (1967-1970)
  • IOC Head of Protocol (1968-1975, 1979-1980)
  • IOC Executive Board Member (1970-1978, 1979-1980)
  • President of the Provincial Council of Barcelona (1973-1977)
  • IOC Vice President (1974-1978)
  • Ambassador of Spain in the USSR and Mongolia (1977-1980)
  • Seventh IOC President (1980-2001)
  • Contributed to the end of amateurism and enabled professionals’ access to Olympic competitions
  • General Director of “La Caixa” (1984-1987) and later President (1987-1999)
  • President of the Spanish Chapter of the Spain-China Forum and Co-President of the Spain-China Forum (2003)

Distinctions & Récompenses

  • Prince of Asturias Award for Sports (1988)
  • Seoul Peace Prize (1990)
  • Awarded the title of “Marqués de Samaranch” by the King of Spain for his involvement in the Olympic Movement (1991)
  • Gold Medal of the city of Barcelona (1993)
  • La Caixa” Honorary President (1999-2010)
  • Gold Collar of the Order of Isabel la Católica (Spain, 2000)
  • Member of the Académie Française des Sports
  • IOC Honorary Life President (2001-2010)
  • Honorary President of the Spain-China Council (2004)
  • Honorary President of Sport Cultura Barcelona (2004)