How to qualify

FIBA EuroBasket Women 2017 will be played with 16 teams. Czech Republic are automatically qualified as hosts.

The remaining 15 participants are being decided through Qualifiers, which are being contested over six game days between 21 November 2015 and 23 November 2016.

A total of 33 teams have been drawn into six groups of four teams and three groups of three teams. The nine group winners and the six best second-placed teams will qualify for the
Final Round of FIBA EuroBasket Women 2017.

For a PDF of the competition system, please click here.

Event Timeline

  • 28 Jun 15 Host Announcement
  • 21 Nov 15 Start of Qualifiers
  • 16 Apr 16 Logo Unveiling
  • 23 Nov 16 End of Qualifiers
  • 9 Dec 16 Draw