Follow FIBA on Facebook

3 Teja OBLAK (Slovenia)
to read

Slovenia now ready for historic first Final Round footsteps

LJUBLJANA (FIBA EuroBasket Women 2017) – Slovenia have named the history-makers who will represent their country at their maiden FIBA EuroBasket Women Final Round appearance.

The team heading to the Czech Republic next week  is made up predominantly of the players who punched their ticket in the Qualifiers, with the addition of naturalized forward Shante Marie Evans.

Slovenia roster for FIBA EuroBasket Women Final Round

Rebeka Abramovic Nika Baric Maja Erkic Shante Evans
Tina Jakovina Eva Lisec  Teja Oblak  Larisa Ocvirk
Sandra Pirsic  Annamaria Prezelj Tina Trebec  Ziva Zdolsek

The roster is headlined by guard duo Teja Oblak and Nika Baric, whose relationship in the backcourt will potentially provide the pillar for success.

Meanwhile, veteran pair Maja Erkic and Sandra Pirsic, along with the ever-improving Eva Lisec will also be integral to their prospects.

Slovenia finished their preparation program with another loss to Montenegro, as they went down 70-62 in the second game of a double-header.

They will compete in Group C and will face France, Greece and defending champions, Serbia.