Follow FIBA on Facebook

14 Ana Dabovic (SRB)
to read

Serbia ready for defense of FIBA EuroBasket Women title

BELGRADE (FIBA EuroBasket Women 2017) - Serbia have unveiled the 12 players who will look to successfully defend their EuroBasket Women crown in Prague.

The reigning champions will be breathing a sigh of relief that they are able to field their marquee players of Sonja Petrovic and 2015 MVP Ana Dabovic, both of whom have been nursing injuries. 

Serbia roster for FIBA EuroBasket Women 2017 
Sasa Cado Aleksandra Crvendakic Ana Dabovic Nevena Jovanovic
Tina Jovanovic Sara Krnjic Sanja Mandic Jelena Milovanovic
Sonja Petrovic Tamara Radocaj Maja Skoric Dragana Stankovic

Along with new captain Jelena Milovanovic who had been exemplary during preparations, the duo will spearhead the first major tournament campaign under new head coach Stefan Karadzic.

The trio are part of nine players from the side that won bronze at their Rio Olympics last year, with young star Aleksandra Crvendakic expected to make a major splash at her first Final Round. 

Of the new faces on board, there are big opportunities for Maja Skoric, who had a terrific season in EuroCup Women with VBW CEKK Cegled, while Tina Jovanovic who excelled with Aluinvent Miskolc is also included.

Serbia will tussle with France, Greece and Slovenia in Group C.