Follow FIBA on Facebook

7 Maria Conde Alcolado (ESP), ESP vs. RUS
to read

Conde and Sanchez handed debuts as Spain confirm roster

MADRID (FIBA EuroBasket Women 2017) - There will be particular excitement for Maria Conde and Beatriz Sanchez as they now look forward to confirmed debuts at the Final Round with Spain.

The 2013 winners have confirmed the players who will be tasked with recapturing the title they relinquished two years ago in Prague.

Spain 12-player roster for FIBA EuroBasket Women 2017
Maria Conde Anna Cruz Silvia Dominguez Laura Gil
Sancho Lyttle Laura Nicholls Laia Palau Leonor Rodriguez
Leticia Romero Beatriz Sanchez Alba Torrens Marta Xargay

The inclusion of Conde is not so much of a surprise after her brilliant efforts through the junior ranks, but Sanchez is a choice out of left field and she will be thrilled to get a senior opportunity a decade after last playing for her country at youth level.

The roster is headlined by an array of EuroLeague Women stars and players who have all delivered unprecedented success for Spain in recent times.

Sancho Lyttle is back after missing last summer's Olympics in Rio due to injury, while Laia Palau, Marta Xargay, Leticia Romero, Alba Torrens, Anna Cruz and Silvia Dominguez confirm unrivaled depth in the backcourt and on the wings.

Meanwhile, head coach Lucas Mondelo revealed the agony of having to sacrifice the long-serving and respected veteran Lucila Pascua as his final cut.

He said: "The professionalism of Luci throughout her career is an example for all international players wearing the shirt.

"On this occasion we have opted for another configuration of pivots with which we believe we can get an even better performance.

"Having to omit a player with this [career] trajectory is more painful." 

Spain have been drawn in Group A against Czech Republic, Hungary and Ukraine.