Follow FIBA on Facebook

Press Release
to read

FIBA EuroBasket 2017 Draw seedings announced

Munich (FIBA EuroBasket 2017) – The official draw seedings for FIBA EuroBasket 2017 have been released prior to Tuesday’s Draw.

In Istanbul at 16.00 CET Tuesday, the 24 teams that will play in next summer’s Final Round will be drawn into four groups of six teams each.

The seedings for the Draw are based on the Competition Regulations of FIBA Europe, taking into account the results of the participating nations in their last FIBA Europe competition(s).

The seedings are as follows:

Seed 1 Seed 2 Seed 3 Seed 4 Seed 5 Seed 6
Spain Greece Croatia Russia Germany Iceland
Lithuania Italy Israel Slovenia Belgium Great Britain
France Czech Republic Turkey Hungary Poland Ukraine
Serbia Latvia Finland Georgia Montenegro Romania

The host federations had the right to choose one partner federation, who will be automatically drawn into the same group. The partnerships bring together Finland and Iceland; Israel and Lithuania; Romania and Hungary; and Turkey and Russia.

The Draw Ceremony can be followed live on YouTube.com/FIBA from 15.00 CET.

FIBA EuroBasket 2017 will take place from 31 August to 17 September and will be co-hosted by Finland, Israel, Romania and Turkey.

About FIBA
FIBA (fiba.com) - the world governing body for basketball - is an independent association formed by 213 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognised as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).
For further information about FIBA visit fiba.com or follow FIBA on facebook.com/fiba, twitter.com/fibainstagram.com/fiba and youtube.com/fiba.