31 August
17 September, 2016

How to qualify

24 teams will participate in FIBA EuroBasket 2017:

  • The 4 hosts (Finland, Israel, Romania, and Turkey)
  • The additional 9 European teams who participated in the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments and/or Rio Olympics (Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Serbia, Spain, Turkey)
  • The 11 remaining teams will be determined through the Qualifiers (see below)

27 teams are participating in the FIBA EuroBasket 2017 Qualifiers phase.

They are divided into seven (7) round-robin groups (home and away games) as follow:

  • Six (6) groups of four (4) teams (Groups A, B, D, E, F and G)
  • One (1) group of three (3) teams (Group C) and will play home and away games with the other teams in their group.

The first placed teams in each group will qualify for the Final Round of EuroBasket 2017. Additionally the four (4) best 2nd placed teams will qualify for the Final Round of EuroBasket 2017.

In order to determine the four (4) best 2nd placed teams the results of the games against the 4th placed team, in each of the groups of four teams will be removed from the ranking process, in order to rank teams on a ‘like for like’ basis across all of the groups.

Event Timeline

  • 12 Dec 15 Host Announcement
  • 31 Aug 16 Qualifiers
  • 27 Sep 16 Initial Ticket Sales
  • 21 Nov 16 Launch of official ball
  • 22 Nov 16 Draw