20 January
30 April, 2021
to read

BCL Americas draw defines quarterfinal bracket

MIAMI (United States) - A draw was held on Monday to determine the BCL Americas Playoffs bracket, which will be played from April 10 to 13 in Managua, Nicaragua, with direct elimination matches.

The Executive Director of FIBA's regional office in the Americas, Carlos Alves, hosted the live broadcast on official YouTube channels. "I would like to take this opportunity to extend my gratitude to all of our beloved national federations, leagues, clubs and fans who join us live at this event. Thanks to our business partners DAZN, DIRECTV and Stats Perform for their collaboration and support of our league," Alves said at the presentation.

Then he added: "I also want to thank all the people who have accompanied and supported us throughout the season. In particular to our BCL Americas president Mr. Horacio Muratore, the BCL Americas Board of Directors, as well as our FIBA ​​Secretary General, Mr. Andreas Zagklis, and presidents Hamane Niang and Carol Callan for their leadership and support to overcome a very difficult year."

Before starting the draw, the President of BCL Americas, Horacio Muratore, shared a few words: "I would also like to thank each team, the players, coaches, managers, referees and all those who participated and made possible the development of the second season of the Basketball Champions League Americas, which was certainly exciting. I am honored to be here with you and to share this historic moment as we begin the draw for the playoffs."


Out of the 12 participating teams, the best two from each group qualified for the finals. The draw was carried out using three bowls: one with the four teams that finished first in their groups, another bowl with the four teams that finished in second place and a third bowl with the numbers 1 through 4 to determine the order of the Quarterfinals and also confirm the Semifinals matches (QF1 vs. QF2; QF3 vs. QF4).

In the Quarterfinals, teams that were already together in the group of the qualifying phase will not meet.


Alexis Argüello Sports Center, Managua, Nicaragua


Quarter finals

April 10, 2021 - Local Time (GMT-6)

11.40 a.m. San Lorenzo vs. Sao Paulo (QF 1)

2:10 p.m. Flamengo vs. Caballos de Coclé (QF 2)

4:40 p.m. Quimsa vs. Minas (QF 3)

7:10 p.m. Real Estelí vs. Franca (QF 4)


April 11, 2021 - Local Time (GMT-6)

4:40 p.m. Winner of QF 1 vs. Winner of QF 2

7:10 p.m. Winner of QF 3 vs. Winner of QF 4

Third place and Final

April 13, 2021 - Local Time (GMT-6)

4:40 p.m. Semifinals Losers (3rd Place)

7:10 p.m. Semifinals Winners (Final for the title)

The games will be broadcasted by DIRECTV Sports in Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Bolivia, Ecuador, Peru and Paraguay; DAZN in Brazil; as well as YouTube and Livebasketball.tv in the rest of the countries.