Follow FIBA on Facebook

to read

FRA - Boungou Colo, Moerman in France's 17-man squad

PARIS (FIBA Basketball World Cup) - The coach of EuroBasket 2013 winners France, Vincent Collet, has removed seven names from the preliminary squad list for the FIBA Basketball World Cup that he announced last month.

Andrew Albicy, Rodrigue Beaubois, Fabien Causeur, Johan Passave-Ducteil, Johan Petro, Pape Sy and Ali Traore have been left out of the updated squad.

National team captain Boris Diaw, who is playing to rave reviews with the San Antonio Spurs in the NBA Finals, is the headline name on the French roster.

Diaw has been able to show off his passing, shooting and rebounding skills in the showdown with the Miami Heat, helping San Antonio seize a 3-1 advantage in the best-of-seven series.

With Spurs playmaker and EuroBasket 2013 MVP Tony Parker electing to take this summer off from the national team, the only other member of last year's title-winning side not among the 17 is center Petro.

The latest roster, which was released on Friday, includes EuroBasket winners Alexis Ajinca, Nicolas Batum, Nando De Colo, Diaw, Antoine Diot, Mickael Gelabale, Thomas Heurtel, Charles Kahudi, Joffrey Lauvergne and Florent Pietrus.

Also included are Evan Fournier, Kevin Seraphin, Edwin Jackson, Rudy Gobert, Kim Tillie, Nobel Boungou Colo and Adrien Moerman.

Boungou Colo, 26, and Moerman, 25, have been rewarded with spots in the 17-man squad after leading Limoges past the Collet-coached Strasbourg in the LNB Finals.

During the regular season, the 2.00m Moerman averaged 12.1 points and 8.1 rebounds and Boungou Colo 15.1ppg and 5.1rpg.

Ajinca was a key man as France's starting center at the EuroBasket.

After returning to Strasbourg, he left in December for the NBA's New Orleans Pelicans and averaged 5.9 points, 4.9 rebounds and 0.8 blocks in 56 games.

At Spain 2014, France will play in Group A against Spain, Brazil, Serbia, Iran and Egypt.