Follow FIBA on Facebook

to read

Bahrain to host the FIBA Asia Cup 2021 Pre-Qualifiers (Western Region)

BEIRUT (FIBA Asia Cup 2021 Pre-Qualifiers) – The FIBA Asia Cup 2021 Pre-Qualifiers (Western Region) will be held in Bahrain from 11 to 15 September 2018. 

These Pre-Qualifiers will see five teams — Bahrain, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (Gulf Zone), Palestine (West Asian Zone), Sri Lanka and Bangladesh (South Asian Zone) — vying for four qualifying spots. 


The Western Region Pre-Qualifiers will be the second stage of qualification for the FIBA Asia Cup 2021. Last month, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia had finished first and second in the initial round of the GBA Pre-Qualifiers, while Sri Lanka and Bangladesh were the top two teams from the SABA region. Palestine automatically qualified as the only team in the WABA sub-zone. 

The top four among these five teams will join four sides from the Eastern Region Pre-Qualifiers at the FIBA Asia Cup 2021 Qualifiers which is scheduled to be held in November 2019.