The FIBA Asia Challenge, previously known as FIBA Asia Cup, is the first step in the process of identifying the qualifiers for the 2017 FIBA Asia Cup, The first-ever Continental Cup played jointly by teams from Asia and Oceania

In 2016, the competition will take place in Tehran, Iran from 9-18 September. The Top five finishers will earn their respective sub-zones additional berths for the 2017 FIBA Asia Cup.

The 12 teams that will compete in the FIBA Asia Challenge are:

  • Host country: Iran
  • FIBA Asia Championship Champions: China
  • WABA: Jordan, Iraq
  • EABA: Korea, Chinese Taipei, Japan
  • CABA: Kazakhstan 
  • SABA: India
  • Gulf: Qatar
  • SEABA: Philippines, Thailand