05 - 12
August 2017

How to qualify?

The FIBA U16 Women’s African Championship 2017 Qualifiers will tip off on June 1 with more than 13 teams doing battle across five groups to earn places for the Final Round taking place in Beira, Mozambique (August 04 - 12).
Zones 1, 3 and 5
The qualifier will be played in a round-robin format with the top team qualifying for FIBA U16 Women’s African Championship 2017.
Zones 2 and 7
The qualifiers of this zone are cancelled as no team registered for the regional tournament.
Zone 6
The qualifiers in this group will be played over two games with the winner securing ticket for the Final Round.

Tournament hosts Mozambique, along with reigning champions Mali as well as Nigeria, Angola and Madagascar - who all reached the Semi-Final stages of the competition in 2015 - are automatically qualified.
The last spots in the 12-team field will be determined through the allocation of two wild cards.